

OKLP RESOLUTION 2024.01(SEC) AUTHORITY TO DETERMINE DELEGATION COMPOSITION AND BYLAWS INTERPRETATIONS

(Adopted 20 May 2024)

WHEREAS the national 2024 Libertarian Party Convention (hereafter "LNC 2024") will take place in May 2024; and

WHEREAS the bylaws of the national Libertarian Party (hereafter "National Party") provide that each state-level affiliate party shall, in accordance with its own bylaws and National Party bylaws, determine who shall be its delegates to all regular conventions; and

WHEREAS the Oklahoma Libertarian Party is the recognized state-level affiliate party of the National Party in the state of Oklahoma and a society unto itself incorporated in the State of Oklahoma; and

WHEREAS the Oklahoma Libertarian Party, during its regular convention in March 2024, elected from among its qualified membership, in full accordance with its bylaws (hereafter "OKLP bylaws"), eleven (11) delegates (hereafter "National Delegates") to represent the Oklahoma Libertarian Party at LNC 2024; and

WHEREAS the National Delegates are authorized by the OKLP bylaws to select alternates from out-of-state (hereafter Alternates); and

WHEREAS National Delegates selected a slate of fifteen (15) Alternates in April 2024, and the list of those Alternates was submitted to the National Party Credentials Committee in a timely fashion; and

WHEREAS the National Party and Oklahoma Libertarian Party parliamentary authority – Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised, 12th Edition (hereafter "RONR") – explicitly states that "[e]ach society decides for itself the meaning of its bylaws[;]" and

WHEREAS the OKLP bylaws grant the Oklahoma Libertarian Party Judicial Committee (hereafter "Judicial Committee") the authority by which to interpret the OKLP bylaws; and

WHEREAS the Judicial Committee issued a unanimous advisory opinion that a plain reading of Article XV, Section 5 of the OKLP bylaws indicates that "the duly elected members of the Oklahoma delegation to the national convention have the authority to select and seat out of state delegates at any time to ensure Oklahoma can fill all of its seats for the national convention[,]" and that "interpreting this bylaw in any other way yields a nonsensical result[;]" and

WHEREAS the OKLP bylaws provide that "[t]he spirit and not the letter of each bylaw shall be controlling subject to ratification of a two-thirds (²/₃) vote of the entire State Executive Committee[;]" and



WHEREAS the bylaws of the National Party provide that "[t]he autonomy of the affiliate and sub-affiliate parties shall not be abridged by the National Committee or any other committee of the [National Party]," but do not provide any further bylaw affording any individual or committee of the [National Party] the authority by which to interpret the bylaws of a state-level affiliate; therefore

BE IT RESOLVED that the Oklahoma Libertarian Party is the authority on its own bylaws and categorically denies that the National Party, any committee thereof, or any outside individual or entity has any authority or standing to interpret OKLP bylaws; and be it further

RESOLVED that the Oklahoma Libertarian Party categorically rejects any interpretation of OKLP bylaws by any entity not specifically authorized by those same bylaws to do so; and be it further

RESOLVED that the State Executive Committee of the Oklahoma Libertarian Party concurs with the aforementioned opinion of the Judicial Committee; and be it further

RESOLVED that the State Executive Committee of the Oklahoma Libertarian Party hereby affirms that selection of the National Delegates and Alternates herein referenced was completed in a manner consistent with both a plain reading and the spirit of the OKLP bylaws; and be it further

RESOLVED that the Oklahoma Libertarian Party categorically rejects any and all challenges to the list of National Delegates or Alternates submitted to the National Party Credentials Committee in 2024.

We, the undersigned members of the State Executive Committee of the Oklahoma Libertarian Party consent and agree to this resolution made at the regular State Executive Committee meeting on 20 May 2024.

Chris Powell, Chair David Greer, S Dillon Feazel, Vice Chair Dalton Matthew Ashley Blevins, Secretary John Hooper, Treasurer Kaleb England, At-Large Representative Robert Murphy, At-Large Representative Jake Spann, At- Large Representative Victoria Whitfield, At-Large Representative

David Greer, Southeast Region Representative

Dalton Matthews, Southwest Region Representative